PicMonkey Collage

Hey Everyone,

Spring has finally arrived so I have decided to put together some new room decor diys for you all! I actually made a video about all of these which goes into much more detail so go check that out here:

DIY VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ly7c94rC7w

But I will also be explaining all of my steps down below!

DIY FLOWER CHANDELIER:

Supplies:

  • Lots of fake flowers
  • Metal wreath frame
  • E6000
  • Needle and Thread
  • Thin Wire

Instructions:

  1. The first thing that I did was spray paint my wreath frame a pretty gold to match with my decor better.
  2. Next I sorted out all of the fake flowers that I had to use and planned out how I wanted the end result to look like.
  3. For the first layer of my chandelier I chose flowers that all had stems so I attached them to the wreath base by first wrapping them with the wire and then wrapping that to the outermost ring on the base.
  4. For the next layer I evenly spaced out rows of 3 white flowers with yellow insides going from the largest flower to the smallest one.
  5. I attached these to the chandelier by first cutting out a piece of thread, knotting it at the end, and then stringing the flowers on leaving a knot between each one. And when I reached the end I double knotted it onto the second ring of my chandelier.
  6. For the third layer I evenly spaced rows of 8 white flowers and threaded them onto a piece of string and attached them onto my chandelier the same way as the last layer.
  7. For the 4th and final layer I evenly spaced out rows of 5 pink flowers and used the same threading/doubling knotted way to attach them to the chandelier as the last two layers.
  8. To seal everything in place and keep it from moving I sealed the tops of all the knots with E6000.

DIY BRASS + WOODEN BEADS WALL HANGING:

Supplies:

  • Two Brass Hoops: one small and one big
  • Cotton Yarn
  • Wooden Beads: two different sizes
  • Tape or Glue

Instructions:

  1. Glue or tape the smaller brass hoop into the center of the larger brass hoop
  2. Measure out pieces of yarn that extend from the bottom of the smaller hoop to about a foot past the bottom of the larger hoop. Make sure that these pieces fold in half to be this length.
  3. If you are using thin yarn like me then you will need 3 pieces of yarn folded in half for each loop.
  4. Once you have enough pieces that you want (I used 13) then start attaching them to the small hoop by making a simple loop  and then pulling the tail through.
  5. Once all of the pieces are looped through the smaller hoop wrap them around the larger hoop once and repeat this until all the strings are wrapped around and then spread them out to make them evenly spaced.
  6. Attach the beads to the ends of the string in the design that you want. I choose to make a “V” at the bottom and then attached either one or two beads to each end.

DIY COLLAGE CANVAS:

Supplies:

  • Magazines
  • Mod Podge
  • Brush

Instructions:

  1. Tear out all the magazine pages with images that you want on them. I wanted my canvas to have a nature-y theme so I tore out pictures that related to that.
  2. Figure out how you want them to be placed onto the canvas and then start gluing them down.
  3. I wanted the edges of all of mine to be irregular so I made sure that I tore every edge before gluing it down.
  4. Keep gluing on pieces until you are happy with it and then let it dry overnight.
  5. To neaten the edges wrap it around the canvas and glue it down with the Mod Podge again.
  6. I sealed everything with a final coat of Mod Podge to make it smooth and glossy.

And that’s it for my diys! hopefully you guys like the ideas and be sure to watch my video if you want more clarification. And if you try anything out then feel free to send a picture of it to one of my social media links. (Instagram & Tumblr: @cupricks)

DIY VIDEO: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-ly7c94rC7w

 

19 thoughts on “DIY ROOM DECOR FOR SPRING

  1. This is so beautiful! I’m trying to liven up the cinder blocks and ugly fluorescent lighting of my dorm room, and this will definitely detract the eye from all that drabness! Great instructions, too. You are so creative!

    Like

Leave a Reply

